A password-protected directory is a folder that cannot be accessed unless the right login details are supplied. This may be an entire website or just a single page that is located in a subfolder. If you try to open this sort of a directory, you'll see a browser pop-up where you have to type in a username and a password. If you type in the appropriate ones, you'll be able to continue browsing the content without needing to do anything extra. If the login credentials aren't correct, however, you shall see a message that you are not allowed to view the content. In case this option is active, you won't be able to open a file even though you may have a direct link. The option is quite useful if you wish to prohibit the access to some content or if you are developing a website and you do not want visitors to be able to access it before it is ready.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Website Hosting

Creating a password-protected area shall take only a couple of clicks and a few seconds when you host your sites in a shared website hosting account with us. You will not need to do anything challenging - you will have to pick a domain/subdomain, to choose which folder under it must be protected, and then to type the login name and password that'll be used to access that folder. If a number of people need their own login details, there will not be a problem to set up several different usernames with access to the same exact folder. All protected folders will appear with a padlock icon within the File Manager section, so you shall always know where this function is enabled. If you would like to turn off the protection feature for any folder, you can disable it from the very same section of the Control Panel in which you have enabled it.