Transferring an existing domain involves changing the registrar company that provides the domain registration service, so after the transfer, you will have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS record updates through the new registrar company. The transfer process is standard with most generic and country-code TLD extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and entail different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain involves a few basic steps and one of them is unlocking the domain. The lock is a security feature, which is being adopted by more and more domain name registry organizations. It is a default feature supported by all generic Top-Level Domains. If a domain is locked, it won’t be possible to start a transfer process, so no one can even try to register your domain. The lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain is registered and all new domains that support this feature are locked by default the moment they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Shared Website Hosting

The Hepsia hosting Control Panel, which is included with each and every shared website hosting plan that we offer, will grant you absolute authority over your domains. You’ll find all domain names registered through our company conveniently displayed in alphabetical order in a separate Control Panel section. Those whose extensions support the domain lock option will have a mini padlock icon on their right. By clicking the icon, you can find out if the particular domain name is locked or unlocked and you can change the current status by clicking once more – the procedure is as straightforward as that. You won’t need to wait for the update to propagate or for our company to do anything, as the status change takes effect momentarily, even if you see something else on WHOIS lookup websites. After all, it takes time for such sites to ‘refresh’ the details that they display.